Welcome to the California Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs
California Code of Regulations
Title 9. Rehabilitation and Developmental Services
Division 4. Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs
Chapter 5. Licensure of Residential Alcoholism or Drug Abuse Recovery
Subchapter 2. Licensing Process
Article 5. Licensing Fees


§10532. Computation of Licensing Fees.

(a) The Department shall assess a fee for licensing each alcoholism or drug abuse recovery or treatment facility not operating under the auspices of a nonprofit organization or a governmental entity.
(b) The Department shall compute licensure fees every other year, beginning with the 1994-95 state fiscal year.
(c) The licensure fee shall be the average actual cost of licensing a facility, computed as follows:
(1) The Department shall compute the average actual cost by dividing the projected departmental expenses (including staff salaries and benefits, operating expenses, and indirect costs related to licensing) for the current fiscal year by the total number of residential alcoholism or drug abuse recovery or treatment facilities licensed as of June 1st of the previous fiscal year.
(2) The Department shall provide the data base used for computing licensure fees upon request and shall also include it as part of the Department's application for licensure.

NOTE
Authority cited: Sections 11755, 11834.50 and 11835, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 11834.15, Health and Safety Code.

HISTORY
1. New section filed 10-23-87; operative 10-23-87 (Register 87, No. 43).

2. Amendment of subsections (a) and (b) filed 12-27-89 as an emergency; operative 1-1-90 (Register 90, No. 1). Certificate of Compliance must be transmitted to OAL within 120 days or emergency language will be repealed by operation of law on 5-1-90.

3. Amendment of subsections (a) and (b) refiled 4-30-90 as an emergency; operative 4-30-90 (Register 90, No. 22). A Certificate of Compliance must be transmitted to OAL within 120 days or emergency language will be repealed by operation of law on 8-28-90.

4. Certificate of Compliance as to 4-30-90 order including amendment of NOTE transmitted to OAL 8-27-90 and filed 9-26-90 (Register 90, No. 44).

5. Amendment of section heading, text and Note filed 4-18-94; operative 5-18- 94 (Register 94, No. 16).

6. Change without regulatory effect adopting new article 5 heading filed 11-17- 94 pursuant to section 100, title 1, California Code of Regulations (Register 94, No. 46).




§10533. Payment of Licensing Fees.

(a) Except for residential alcoholism or drug abuse recovery or treatment facilities which are operated under the auspices of a nonprofit organization or a governmental entity, all applicants for licensure and all licensees are required to pay a licensing fee, computed by the Department in accordance with Section 10532.
(b) The application for licensure shall specify the amount of the licensing fee to be paid upon application.
(1) Applicants for licensure shall attach to the application for licensure a certified check or money order on the amount of the licensing fee.
(2) The Department may terminate its review of an application for licensure if the applicant has failed to attach the required licensure fee.
(3) The licensure fee shall not be refunded.
(c) At least 90 days prior to the expiration date specified on the license, the Department shall notify the licensee of the amount of licensing fee to be paid and the date by which the fee shall be paid.
(1) The licensee shall submit licensing fees prior to the expiration date Noted on the license.
(2) The license shall expire on the date specified on the license unless all licensing fees have been paid in full.

NOTE
Authority cited: Sections 11755, 11834.50 and 11835, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 11834.03, 11834.09 and 11834.16, Health and Safety Code.

HISTORY
1. New section filed 4-18-94; operative 5-18-94 (Register 94, No. 16).